«Back to Main Site

Scholarship Spotlight: Amanda Allegra

AmandaAllegraAmanda Allegra was one of six scholars to be awarded a graduate student scholarship for the 2010-2011 academic year. Allegra isa graduate of California State University, Northridge where she was initiated into Gamma Sigma Alpha in 2007 and graduated cum laude. A sorority initiate of Delta Zeta, she led her chapter as President for two consecutive terms. She was also awarded membership in Kappa Omicron Nu and Order of Omega in addition to being involved in the academic club within the academic department. Dedicated to service as well, Allegra has volunteered for the Special Olympics for almost 10 years! Allegra remained at her undergraduate alma mater to pursue a Master’s Degree in Family and Consumer Sciences and served as the Panhellenic President during her first year of graduate school.

A campus advisor wrote her recommendation letter and stated, “She exudes the ideals and values that every sorority woman should live up to.” Congratulations to Amanda Allegra-please continue to make Gamma Sigma Alpha proud to call you an initiate!

Tags: ,
Posted: March 10th, 2011 in Scholarship Spotlights | No Comments »

NGLA & SEIFC Awards Announced


Begun in 2000, the Gamma Sigma Alpha regional GPA competition seeks to recognize those schools within the geographic regions whose fraternity/sorority GPA is the greatest above their undergraduate GPA. Honor Roll schools are determined by those schools whose fraternity/sorority GPA is above the undergraduate GPA.

Northeast Greek Leadership Association: The institution receiving the award for the Spring 2010 academic period for the Northeast Greek Leadership Association (NGLA) is Drexel University. The NGLA winner for the Fall 2010 academic period is St. Francis University.

The Honor Roll recipients for NGLA for BOTH the Fall 2010 and Spring 2010 semesters are: Washington & Jefferson College, Drexel University, Saint Francis University and Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey.

Southeastern Interfraternity Conference:The institution receiving the award for the Spring 2010 academic period for Southeastern Interfraternity Conferences (SEIFC) is Western Kentucky University. The SEIFC winner for the Fall 2010 academic period is Jacksonville State University.  

The Honor Roll recipients for SEIFC for BOTH the Fall 2010 and Spring 2010 semesters are: The University of Georgia, University of Central Florida, Spring Hill College, The University of Louisiana at Monroe, Western Kentucky University, Jacksonville State University, University of Miami and University of South Carolina.

For more information about Gamma Sigma Alpha and how you can start a chapter on your campus or get your school name on this list, click here. A complete list of award recipients will be published after the regional conferences commence.

Posted: March 3rd, 2011 in Uncategorized | No Comments »